Woo hoo! I’m a part of history!

Well, I guess this counts as an accomplishment.

The Pew Fiscal Analysis Initiative reported this morning that 44% of the 15 million unemployed Americans have been out of work for six months or more, the largest number since World War II. And 23% have been jobless for a year. According to the study, that’s about 3.4 million people, rougly the population of Connecticut.

Sunday will make it 13 months out of work. Woo hoo! I’m part of history.

And the real fun part is this little sentence early on in the report: “For individuals, the likelihood of finding a job decreases as the length of unemployment increases.”

Wow.

No one’s gonna hire me. I’m too old, too skilled, too unskilled, I’m out of work too long.

So why bother?

3 Responses to “Woo hoo! I’m a part of history!”

  1. blake Says:

    You made the history books. Time to retire! (laughs).
    I predict that you’ve only beGUN to bedazzle the world.

  2. Heather McLane Says:

    21 months for me. So I’m screwed …

  3. jmucci Says:

    I’ve been out of work on & off for the better part of 4 years now. Just a temp assignment every 5 or 6 months it seems, for a few weeks, a few months…and then nothing again for months at a time. As far as I’m concerned….THESE are my “retirement years”….I’ll never be able to afford to retire at the normal age.
    I figure…at least I’m young enough to enjoy it. Hahaha…
    It gets very frustrating and disheartening though. Makes you feel like a “loser” and like you are not really contributing to society….but I keep trying to hang in there. Hope you do as well Fran. Maybe you should take some temp assignments while you are waiting to find a real job. Then again, there isn’t many of those out there anymore either. This country is in bad shape.

Leave a Reply

