Love Those Fortune Cookies, Part 24

fortune20cookieJan. 23, 2013

I don’t know why I do this to myself.

Sometimes, when I’m out somewhere and wrapped up with writing and I let time fly, and I’m not home for dinner, I’ll end up going to a Chinese buffet. It’s cheap enough ($10), and it’s all-you-can-eat and, as someone who can’t quite afford my favorite sushi place, it has some objects that resemble sushi (just add soy sauce, ginger and wasabi).

That’s what I did a couple nights ago. Went to my usual Starbucks and got wrapped up in a lengthy conversation, and next thing I knew, it was close to 8:00. So I packed up and traipsed a couple miles up the Post Road to this one buffet. It’s not that good, really, but I invariably overeat and later feel not so great. I don’t make a habit of this, but once in a while, I give in.

I felt a little funny. And on this particular evening, even the fortune was a little funny. Never came across one the likes of this before, that’s for sure — my first-ever product-placement fortune cookie:

“Next time, order the shrimp.”

I’m not thinking there’s gonna be a next time at this point. At least for a while. Next time, I’ll eat better. But I’m not sure it’ll entail shrimp …

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

